Luke, what pays the bills?

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Discussion' started by Druvas, Jun 18, 2009.

1. the keeper

the keeper Spellbinder

2. LumpyCheeseman

LumpyCheeseman Level 0 Character

I am a jack of all trades, master of none.

Currently I am running an editing gig, but went to school for electrician, grew up in construction, self taught mechanic (worked for two shops), lots of factory labor, grew up doing computers as well (dad was a tech, learned from him for a while then started teaching him stuff).

3. serleran

serleran Level 0 Character

At the day through night job, I get paid to be a computer grunt, fixing their problems which shouldn't even exist, especially since the majority of the customers are network admins at somewhat large companies, like IBM or Symantec... yet, they ask silly questions like "how do I use access control lists?"

Beyond that, when I get the time and effort to waste, I write stuff that gets published -- soon, I hope to be doing this for myself, as it has always been a dream.

And then, if I really had the sleepless night, like now, I am an ordained minister... so, I perform the rare wedding ceremony or give last rites.

4. MAJ Bill

MAJ Bill Level 0 Character

I am a Major in the Army Reserve. I have been on a voluntary, state-side MOB for the last 3 1/2 years. I work as the leader of a team that helps train Combat Aviation Brigades (CAB), that are deploying to Iraq or Afghanistan. I had about seven years enlisted before I, "Switched over to the dark side" and got my commission. I agree with Luke, and think I would make out better under a skill point system like Chaosium's BRP. The huge amount of HPs I would get under AD&D would be pretty cool though. :lol:

5. Melf

Melf Administrator Staff Member

Where are you MOBed at right now Major B? I am on the left coast in the CA ARNG.

6. MAJ Bill