No one to blame but ourselves...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by JamieTheRed, Jan 30, 2016.

1. JamieTheRed

JamieTheRed Level 0 Character

I have been attending GaryCon for six years in a row now and each year we "the barbarians at the gates" all log in and ping the crap out of the site trying to be the first ones in. Then, when the gates open, and the barbarians destroy their booty, they sit back and sigh. This barbarian will be ready for another assault at 3 pm est! :0) Who's with me???!!!

Kubo, Erik Garland and PBurke like this.
  2. Tink333

Tink333 Footpad

Actually, Jim Wampler just posted on the GC FB group that someone did actually hack the system and the side effect of them trying to fix it was inadvertently turning the submit button live.

3. Donegal

Donegal Level 0 Character

That's awesome! I seriously think I would miss the registration issues if one year everything just worked. It builds suspense for the Con! And even when I don't get what I want I still have a great time at the event. I think last year there were GP spots open several weeks after the registration, even games with "old guard" GMs.

Kubo and brendar like this.
  4. stahlnee

stahlnee Spellbinder

What!

A barbarian can not be held accountable for their impulses!

This barbarian will be pushing at the gate, just as any respectible barbarian would be!

Last edited: Jan 30, 2016
  5. datagoblin67

datagoblin67 Level 0 Character

I disagree with the OP statement, there are plenty of Cons that dont have this many issues each year. GameHole Con, for one, has been running for only a couple years and is an EXCELLENT example on overcoming communication issues (lack of, updating social media instead of website) and technical issues (crashes, server loads, hacking?). I think their attendance numbers were on par, if not even a little more than GC this past year.

Tink333 likes this.
  6. Erik Olsen

Erik Olsen Chevalier

We're all human, what can we do?