Any room for a gamer anthropologist?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by nickmizer, Nov 23, 2010.

1. nickmizer

nickmizer Level 0 Character

*Note: I sent this through the events & registration contact page, but wasn't sure if that was the right place for it. Not sure if this is the right place either, so apologies if I'm too OT*

My name is Nick Mizer. I've been gaming for about 5 years, and am starting work on a PhD dissertation about tabletop gaming. As part of that work, I'd love to attend GaryCon and hopefully meet some other attendees that would be willing to talk to me about both the history of the hobby and their own gaming history.

These would be informal interviews with anyone who would be willing to sit down and spend some time with me, and would help me in my work trying to understand our hobby and its history.

The reason I'm writing is that my department requires me to request permission from the organizers to attend with that purpose in mind. I would not need any exhibitor space or otherwise need to intrude on the convention; I just want to talk to anyone I meet that is willing to chat for a bit.

Thanks,

Nicholas Mizer
    PhD Student,
    Anthropology Department
    Texas A&M University

2. howandwhy99

howandwhy99 Level 0 Character

I can talk your ear off about role playing ...as long as it doesn't interfere with gaming. ;)

That includes its' history from birth in 1920 through the 1970's and today, who Dr J. Moreno was, why RPGs were designed as pattern finding games for the hobby's first 20-25 years, and why they are designed and spoken of differently now. Not so much on why dragons breathe fire, but I'm willing to share a pitcher and talk with you.

3. the keeper

the keeper Spellbinder