STICKY: Favorite Gary Stories

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Donal, Mar 25, 2009.

1. Donal

Donal Administrator

Please feel free to share any Gary stories here.

2. Melf

Melf Administrator Staff Member

OK. I'll get this started. I have lots of good stories about Dad (most of which I can't post up in a public forum :) ). Seriously though, he was a competitive player when it came to board games, espicially prior to hitting his late 50's. He mellowed out after that. I grew up playing WWII chit boardgames- Avalon Hill mostly- versus my Dad and my brother Ernie. I lost several games of D-Day, Russian Campaign, Stalingrad and Operation Overlord. I am the youngest and i always wanted to play the German side- so I was at a disadvantage. Needless to say, I played the games, but I had little hope of actually winning.

So I started playing a game of Operation Overlord with Dad about 1987 or so - and I am the Germans defending Normandy from the filthy Allies. My Dad masses up and starts pushing around Caen and south of the area about 10 hexes or so. I counter-attacked with some good units ( I believe it was Panzer Lehr, 12th SS and 2nd SS primarily). I did pretty well and ejected him from Caen and had him close to the ocean after a couple turns. I went to attack some Canadian and brits backed up to the water and I rolled poorly and got an exchange. I was disappointed with that roll and it must have shown. Dad started razzing me saying it was all over for me now and there is no way I can recover from that bad attack. I was so used to losing at Operation Overlord, that I believed him! So I said OK, I concede there is no point in playing hours and hours of this game if it is a done deal. So we started packing it up. As soon as we started putting the pieces away, he began chuckling. I asked him what was so funny. He told me that I was going to win that game and I was whooping his ass! The dirty dog used psychological warfare against me! I haven't played Operatio