What Happens to Open Seats

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by MatthewJHanson, Mar 11, 2013.

1. MatthewJHanson

MatthewJHanson Level 0 Character

This is my first time at GaryCon, and I'll be running a few events there, a couple of which still have open seats.

Another attendee has contacted me asking to play in one of those open seats. I'm not sure quite how to reply. Does GaryCon has a system in place where you can register for open seats on site, or do people show up and the GM makes a call?

2. mordrin

mordrin Spellbinder Staff Member

If your game is 'off the books' (not in the ticketed event list), you can fill it however you like - get unofficial online signups, reserve spots for friends, put out a signup sheet at the con, take walkups, etc.

If your game is officially registered, tickets are available online until they run out or event registration ends. After online event registration ends, there's a 'blackout period', then* at the con, they become available again at the front desk, if any are still remaining for that event.

* Last year, on-site ticketing was implemented, and I would assume it will return for 2013.
    viewtopic.php?f=3&t=832&p=10598&hilit=pegboard#p10598
    I don't know if they are available Wednesday or not until Thursday morning.

Tickets for events always need to be honored.
    GMs can, at their discretion, seat more people than were ticketed. However, if you do this at all, please use restraint. Some types of events are 'the more the merrier' and some aren't. Getting into a game unexpectedly can be fun, but having lots of downtime between turns because there's 10 players in an event you thought would be 6 when you registered may not be.
    (Speaking for myself, I prefer no more than 6 in a 'typical' RPG event, and would ideally rather have more like 3-5 in most of them.)

3. amigaman

amigaman Level 0 Character