Thinking of running some games this year

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by sd8k, Sep 26, 2012.

1. sd8k

sd8k Level 0 Character

Last year was my first year and it was great. This year I am thinking about running some games.

I have run many games but not in a convention setting so any advice for how to convert a 'regular' game into a convention game would be appreciated.

I would like to run a few different games:

*AD&D 3.5 Low level adventure (2-3) with some cool puzzles (math and science related) I built this as an intro to a great campaign. Its a little geekey.

*Robo Rally - I'd run the board and keep the mechanics on track. As a software engineer I love this game!

*AD&D 3.5 High Level "contained" adventure - escape from a mirror of soul trapping owned by a litch (a very old favorite of mine). With this one the focus is on player interaction and letting the high level chars personalities collide. I am not sure if it will work with strangers.

* Great Dalmudi?????

Thoughts? How do I start and make something fun..... and to keep me from looking like an ass (as in osarious Tomb of Horrors run last year) :lol:

:Edit - There is enough time I could rewrite either of those 3.5 games as 1ed...... hmmmmm

D

2. grodog

grodog Troubadour

There's some great articles in Dragon if you have the CD archive, in particular the ones in Dragon 70 (which you would want to reverse engineer as a DM since it's written for players), and 108. I'm sure Frank Mentzer can offer some useful insight, too, of course ;)

3. sniderman

sniderman Chevalier

I found a great resource online sometime ago: "How To Write Con Scenarios." Some great advice on how to pace encounters; how to write a start, middle, and end; and how to fit it all into a 3-5 hour timeframe. I've posted it to my Google account for free downloading for anyone as I find the info within very useful and insightful.

4. MonsterMike

MonsterMike Level 0 Character